99% Invisible Podcast Image

99% Invisible

An Arts and Design podcast featuring Roman Mars
 102 people rated this podcast

What People Are Saying

Search Reviews...
RATING
Emily Boda reviewed this podcast on Apr 16th, 2019
"This podcast has a very specific sound. Roman's voice is deep and purposeful, it has very little of the scripted spontaneity found in many other narrative podcasts. Even when his producers are brought in for a story, he still takes the lead on the narration. The stories are always fascinating and instead of speeding up to match the pace of your busy life they instead draw you into their world. One motto of the show is "always read the plaque" referring to reading historical markers and other commemorations you might otherwise walk by. This show makes you realize just how there is to know about the seemingly ordinary, and it's definitely one of the greatest podcasts of our time."
Sarah Breau reviewed this podcast on Mar 13th, 2019
"This is a great picture about design, history, and everyday objects. I often wish the episodes were longer, but it's still a top-notch podcast. Highly recommended."
jacobsonntag reviewed this podcast on Mar 11th, 2019
"Roman Mars is such a captivating host who is somehow able to keep conversations going about many different topics yet keep it interesting every time. My favorite episode is “The Containment Plan” about LA’s Skidrow."
LovetteAnimation reviewed this podcast on Nov 10th, 2018
"It's like a potato chip bag full of random and interesting knowledge."
CloudyGuy reviewed this podcast on Sep 21st, 2018
"I love design. And this podcast feeds my never ending desire to keep learning more about it - from soundscapes to architecture to everything. Amazing."
Rafael reviewed this podcast on Sep 8th, 2018
"Simply the best..."
vikjam reviewed this podcast on Jul 12th, 2018
"Lots of interesting, obscure stories about things I've never heard of and things I've seen everyday. I find myself referencing this podcast quite often. "
etagwerker reviewed this podcast on Jul 11th, 2018
"I love this podcast! It's very well produced and it talks about random design topics. Definitely a must-listen for design geeks. "
ShawnOfSulfur reviewed this podcast on Mar 5th, 2018
"One of the greatest podcasts in the entire medium. This should be required listening for anyone with a podcast app. "
Freddy216b reviewed this podcast on Jul 8th, 2017
"A great show about those hidden parts of design that you wouldn't think of. Although they often talk about visual things they way it is written and composed lends itself so well to the podcast form."
Brendan Hutchins reviewed this podcast on Jun 14th, 2017
"Roman Mars has the best delivery, and makes even my least favorite episodes tolerable. "
BrianMacraeDavis reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Always looks at an aspect of life that i took for granted or was unaware of. Always an enjoyable experience."
emilyboda reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Even if you didn't think you were interested in design, you'll love this podcast. Take "way-finding", for example: the ways that building designers subtly tell you where to go without making signs. After listening to this podcast you'll start to notice things like the way tiles on the floor are arranged to point you towards the security line at the airport and you'll never see the world in quite the same light."
shuttrking reviewed this podcast on Jun 12th, 2017
"99PI is leading the way in storytelling podcasts that are able to find incredible stories in the seemingly mundane. Host Roman Mars has one of the best voices you'll ever hear as well."
MauriceFrank reviewed this podcast on Jun 12th, 2017
"A favorite for a very long time. I can't imagine podcasting without Roman Mars, a true hero of the podcasting world (at least for me). Fascinating topics and great story telling."
flutter_sama reviewed this podcast on Jun 11th, 2017
"I love design, so this is definitely the podcast for me. There are some episodes that I liked more than others, but overall great podcast."
pod_twit reviewed this podcast on Jun 10th, 2017
"Some great episodes, but sometimes I know about the topics before-hand and the entire episode is just repeated information. And that happens more often than I'd like it to. But great podcast nonetheless."
BluntFarce reviewed this podcast on Jun 10th, 2017
"Believe the hype. If you're at all interested in, or curious about, design, architecture etc. you're going to be fascinated by these episodes - which are never a second longer than they need to be. "
AdamWK reviewed this podcast on Jun 10th, 2017
"The ability of Roman Mars and his staff to take an everyday, mundane topic and make it an absolute riveting episode out of it stuns me on the regular. "
add a review
Rate Podcast
Podcast Details
Started
Sep 23rd, 2010
Latest Episode
Jun 4th, 2019
Release Period
Weekly
No. of Episodes
385
Avg. Episode Length
21 minutes
Explicit
No
Do you host or manage this podcast?
Claim and edit this page to your liking.