Podchaser Logo
Episode from the podcastSpotlight: Hollywood Edition

Spotlight HE: William Lee from 3 Knee Deep Returns

Released Monday, 14th December 2015
Good episode? Give it some love!
Actor/Director William Lee from the film 3 Knee Deep Returns stops by. Sunday December 13, 2015 Video: https://blab.im/kinte-actor-director-william-lee-f…

Host: Kinte @KinteF https://twitter.com/KinteF
Carlette @LettesChat https://twitter.com/LettesChat

William Lee @WILLIAMXLEE https://twitter.com/williamxlee http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2914215/?ref_=nmbio_bio… https://vimeo.com/williamxlee

http://www.redbox.com/movies/3-knee-deep

An independent film director for three decades, he has known how difficult it is to make a film with little financial backing and huge amounts of unasked-for advice. His passion for what he does has kept him moving forward in the face of staggering challenges.

Born in New York, Lee's father A World War two veteran and aircraft engineer moved the family westward when William was 6 years old, but not way out west, as in La La land (rumor has it that Lee's father was staunch New Yorker who hated phonies!), but the Midwest--The State of Ohio to be exact.

After seeing Kung Fu legend, and martial arts movie legend Bruce Lee on screen for the first time in 1974, Lee asked his father to purchase a movie camera so that he might replicate the famous martial artists' exploits--albeit on a smaller scale. Within a year of picking up a movie camera, Lee received his first film award at the Eye Music Festival of San Francisco. Since then, he has directed over 30 film projects.

Outside of the obvious controversy, Lee has found that black film making has come to a complete halt in terms of creativity. The era of "hood/ghetto/gangsta" films seems to keep hanging on, with the same tired plots and imagery. Lee has found it impossible to find funding because he steers clear of typical material.

Until his first major release Code: Black, in 2007, Lee had been virtually unknown. His films languished in obscure film fests,Midwestern film premieres, and on-line sites like Indieflix.com. Never quirky enough to interest Sundance, too action filled to be praised in major "refined" film circles, never peopled by major or even sub-major stars, financed totally from Lee's various day jobs, he has spent every year since 1974 chasing that dream. The dream that one day he could be seen for what he is. Not a black filmmaker, but a filmmaker who makes non stereotypical, well written action films with a message. Nothing more, nothing less.

Unfortunately, in spite of his growing reputation as a talented director, the color of his skin remained a problem as investors showed a lack of confidence in the ability of an African-American to direct a produce a money making film. He constantly had to turn to friends and family for financial backing.Determination and persistence are the heart and soul of William Lee. These qualities were ultimately tested by a challenge that would shatter a lesser man. As if what he had endured before was not daunting enough, Lee had to deal with something far worse than the usual backstabbing of the movie industry: life-threatening cancer-like Systemic Lupus.

Diagnosed in 1997, the disease required him to undergo surgery, treatment with experimental drugs, and chemotherapy for the better part of two years. In addition to substantial weight loss, Will Lee was forced to contend with a gaping hole in his side, and physical debilitation that resulted in lengthy periods during which a wheel chair was his only way of getting around. In spite of the intense pain and temporary setbacks, he eventually forced a miracle. The affliction that once placed his life in jeopardy is now in remission, and he is a fully functioning member of the community: a testimony to medical advances and his own desire to live. Having overcome the danger, but realizing there is no cure for the disease, this Lupus survivor today smiles at the memory of the experience.
Rate Episode

From The Podcast

Spotlight: Hollywood Edition

The Spotlight Hollywood Edition (S.H.E.) is a podcast that covers the world of Hollywood. The show will feature interviews with industry insiders such as (actors, writers, producers and directors). The goal of this show is to keep the public up to date with all the breaking tinsel town news.Hosts: Kinte, Taralyn Gravois & Meosha BeanSeason 1 (2013)01. Gameela Wright (1x01) 10/28/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/gameela-wright-from-blue-bloods_1 02. Michael Grant (1x02) 11/8/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/michael-grant-from-pretty-little-liars 03. C.S. Lee (1x03) 11/9/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/c-s-lee-from-dexter_1 04. Christopher Douglas Reed (1x04) 11/16/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/christopher-douglas-reed-sons-of-anarchy_1 05. Erica Tazel (1x05) 11/16/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/erica-tazel-from-justified_1 06. Angeline Rose Troy (1x06) 11/22/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/angeline-rose-troy-from-the-good-mother_1 07. Timothy V. Murphy (1x07) 11/23/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/timothy-v-murphy-from-sons-of-anarchy_1 08. Jaylen Moore (1x08) 12/6/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/jaylen-moore-from-homeland 09. Black & Single (web series) cast (1x09) 12/7/13 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/black-and-singleSeason 2 (2014)10. J.D. Williams (2x01) #10 3/14/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/j-d-williams 11. Ty Olsson (2x02) 3/21/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/ty-olsson_1 12. Michael Potts (2x04) 3/22/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/michael-potts 13. Alexia Anastasio 3/28/14 (2x05) 3/28/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/alexia-anastasio 14. April Telek (2x06) 3/29/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/april-telek 15. Neil LaBute (2x07) 4/11/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/director-neil-labute 16. Sam Simon (2x08) 4/12/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/sam-simon-co-creator-of-the-simpsons 17. Kevin Sizemore (2x09) 4/17/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/actor-kevin-sizemore 18. Michael Zapcic & Brian J. Cano (2x10) 4/19/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/michael-zapcic-and-brian-j-cano 19. Kevin Hamedani (2x12) 4/25/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/actor-director-kevin-hamedani 20. John V Knowles Chastity Bites (2x13) 4/26/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/chastity-bites 21. Mel Novak (2x14) 5/2/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/mel-novak 22. Paul Sampson (2x15) 5/9/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/actor-director-paul-sampson_2 23. Jim Beaver (2x16) 5/10/14 part one http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/jim-beaver part two http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/jim-beaver-pt-2 24. Bob Rubin (2x17) 5/16/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/bobrubin 25. Red Sleep (2x18) 5/16/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/red-sleep-the-web-series 26. Jeff Santo (2x19) 5/23/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/jeffsanto 27. Allen Carter (2x20) 5/30/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/allencarter 28. Taylor Nichols (2x21) 6/6/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/taylornichols 29. Jeff Kober (2x22) 6/10/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/actor-jeff-kober 30. Joe Wilson Vampire Mob (2x23) 6/13/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/vampiremob 31. Julian Richings (2x24) 6/20/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/julianrichings32. Kristian Bruun from Orphan Black (2x25) 6/22/14 http://www.spreaker.com/user/indyradio/kristianbruunSeason 3 (2014)33. Chris Mulkey (3x01) 8/1/1434. Actor Eric Nelsen (3x02) 8/15/1435. Robert Mandan (3x03) 9/5/1436. Hope Olaide Wilson (3x04) 9/12/1437. Zak Santiago (3x05) 9/19/1438. Jesse Lipscombe (3x06) 9/26/1439. Chris Rosamond (3x07) 10/3/1440. Michelle Thrush (3x08) 10/3/1441. Gary Cairns (3x09) 11/7/1442. Rukiya Bernard (3x10) 11/12/1443. Mark Hildreth (3x11) 11/18/1444. Seith Mann (3x12) 12/3/14?45. Tony Dyson...
Do you host or manage this podcast?
Claim and edit this page to your liking.