Process Driven 33: A Visceral Response [Lisa Pressman]

Released Thursday, 9th April 2020
Good episode? Give it some love!
As much as I love working with acrylics in my paintings, because many of them are literally dozens of layers of pigment, collage, found objects, and thick layers of acrylic medium, it can take weeks to finish a single piece just waiting for layers to dry. A few years ago, I began looking into using encaustic, which offers the ability to create work with a similar aesthetic to my acrylic work in a fraction of the time. In doing the research, I came across the work of Lisa Pressman. Lisa is a fabulous artist from New Jersey who works in both encaustic and oils and has been exhibiting her work for nearly four decades. In addition to making her own work, she inspires others to start their own artistic journey through her workshops and one on one mentoring. Lisa and I have spoken a few times and I’m so grateful that we were finally able to hit the record button.
Subscribe: Apple PodcastsSpotify | Stitcher | Overcast | Google Podcasts | RSS
If you enjoy listening to Process Driven, please consider leaving a review or a rating wherever you listen to help others discover the show.

SHOW NOTES

Connect with Lisa: Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook
Elizabeth Murray: https://elizabethmurrayart.org
Ross Bleckner: https://rbleckner.com/
Susan Rothberg: https://www.artsy.net/artist/susan-rothenberg
Gregory Amenoff: http://www.gregoryamenoff.com
Terry Winters: https://www.terrywinters.org
Philip Guston: https://www.wikiart.org/en/philip-guston
Joan Mitchell: https://www.wikiart.org/en/joan-mitchell
Jake Berthot: http://www.bettycuninghamgallery.com/artists/estat…
James Marshall: https://www.moca.org/exhibition/kerry-james-marsha…
Hans Hofmann: https://www.hanshofmann.org
Alice Neel: http://www.aliceneel.com/
Pretty much the best book out there for working with oils and cold wax: Cold Wax Medium: Techniques, Concepts & Conversati…
Music in this episode: Please Listen Carefully (Jahzzar) / CC BY-SA 4.0

WANT TO SUPPORT THE WORK I’M DOING?

Subscribe & Review: Apple PodcastsSpotify | Stitcher | Overcast | Google Podcasts
Tell Your Friends & Share Episodes Online: You can even share a favorite show clip using the terrific Recast feature. I’ve made a video showing you how: Create Custom Audiograms with Recast by Simplecast…
Donate: Check out my Patreon account
Use my Amazon Affiliate Links: Occasionally, I’ll include links to things that I either own and use myself (mostly books) or think might be helpful/useful/inspiring to you. I will never simply spam product lists (such as “what’s in my bag?”). If I’m including an affiliate link, it’s for something I actually believe in.
*Disclosure: Books and products marked with an asterisk are linked to an affiliate program. I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for me to earn advertising fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Creators & Guests

We don't know anything about the creators of this episode yet. You can add them yourself so they can be credited for this and other podcasts.

Episode Reviews

This episode hasn't been reviewed yet. You can add a review to show others what you thought.

Rate Episode

Recommend This Episode

Recommendation sent

Join Podchaser to...

  • Rate podcasts and episodes
  • Follow podcasts and creators
  • Create podcast and episode lists
  • & much more

Episode Details

Length
53m 18s
Explicit
No

Episode Tags

Do you host or manage this podcast?
Claim and edit this page to your liking.