The History of China Podcast Image

The History of China

A Society, Culture and History podcast featuring Chris Stewart
 21 people rated this podcast

What People Are Saying

Search Reviews...
RATING
TimSullivan reviewed this podcast on Jun 16th, 2017
"Listening to this podcast has been like stepping into another world. It has made accessible a great depth of history that I otherwise would never have had the time to experience. We in the West are very guilty of ignoring the (very long) histories of other civilizations, but this podcast takes China's story and makes it digestible to a casual student of history. I cannot recommend it more. Also it unintentionally convinced me that Steve Bannon is a eunuch, so there's that."
rydcunningham reviewed this podcast on Jun 14th, 2017
"Richly detailed and succinct enough for an episode during my commute. Learning so much!"
nmoore63 reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"A good podcast narration through the history of China. "
CheshireCat reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"A wonderful history of China from the beginning. The story is told with care and with a touch of humor, making the events accessible and fascinating even to a Westerner with little-to-no prior knowledge of Chinese history. Highly recommend this one."
Lsambhavi reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"My daily go-to podcast! So comprehensive, and riveting. So many episodes are a must re-re-..re-listen!"
monprin reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Great narrative history of china, but not too heavy. He makes it fun to learn about this sometimes dense topic."
bpdkaufman reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"One of the podcasts I go to the office on a Sunday night to download (no internet at home in Bangui). It's that good of a pcast! "
srasp413 reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Chris does a great job of going into enough depth to really get into the material but keeps things moving at a good pace so there's never a dull moment. One of my favorite podcasts!"
PhrankBrochu reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Excellent history podcast, a must listen for anyone interested in East Asian history."
greatscott66 reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Nothing like having five millennia of Chinese history to play with and starting from the beginning. Thorough, thorough, thorough. I'm only a dozen episodes in or so, but I know more about early Chinese history now than I've ever known before, and I'm really looking forward to the future... "
DanDavis reviewed this podcast on Jun 13th, 2017
"Possibly the best history podcast out there. The story of China from mythic origins through dynasty after dynasty. With history's biggest wars and technological developments, ethnic and social upheavals and the most brilliant and devious characters. There are truly great stories here. I didn't know much about China before I started listening but I have listened to every one of them at least once and I am completely hooked and will be to the end. Highly recommended."
add a review
Rate Podcast
Podcast Details
Started
Nov 25th, 2013
Latest Episode
Jul 14th, 2019
Release Period
Weekly
No. of Episodes
181
Avg. Episode Length
34 minutes
Explicit
No
Do you host or manage this podcast?
Claim and edit this page to your liking.
Are we missing an episode or update?
Use this to check the RSS feed immediately.